The African Union (AU) today hosted the Second Joint Committee Meeting of the Monitoring, Verification and Compliance Mechanism (MVCM) of the Ethiopian peace process to take stock of current developments and reflect on the way forward in the implementation of the Permanent Cessation of Hostilities Agreement (COHA), signed on 2 November 2022.

The Joint Committee was attended by representatives of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (FDRE), the Tigray People’s Liberation Front (TPLF), and the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), as stipulated in the Permanent COHA.

The Joint Committee commended the tremendous progress achieved since the deployment of the AU MVCM in the Tigray region, including the disarmament of heavy weapons and the impending handover of medium and light weapons as part of the disarmament, demobilisation and reintegration (DDR) process, the facilitation of unhindered humanitarian access, the restoration of health, banking, public transport, and commercial services and the re-opening of schools in most parts of the region.

While noting the progress made, the Joint Committee nonetheless recognised the need to accelerate the demobilisation and reintegration of the Tigray armed combatants, in line with the Permanent COHA and the subsequent Declaration of the Senior Commanders. In this regard, the Joint Committee recommended the extension of the mandate of the AU MVCM until 31 December 2023.

The Joint Committee equally underlined the urgent need to enhance the safety and protection of civilians by facilitating the steady return of internally displaced persons and refugees to the affected areas. The Joint Committee also welcomed the recent United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS) accreditation by the Ethiopian Government. It affirmed its commitment to work closely with UNMAS towards removing unexploded ordnance to secure the livelihoods of affected populations, restore their dignity and fast-track a return to normalcy.

The AU is grateful to the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (FDRE) and the Tigray People’s Liberation Front (TPLF) for their commitment to the spirit of African Solutions to African problems. The AU further expressed its gratitude to the Governments of the Republic of Kenya, the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and the Republic of South Africa for their continued support of the AU-led process.

The AU Commission reiterates its commitment to accompany the Government and the people of Ethiopia in their quest for lasting peace. It also appreciates the bilateral and multi-lateral partners, including the African Development Bank (AfDB) and Norway, for their continued support.

For further information, please contact:

Mr Paschal Chem-Langhee, Communications Coordinator | Department of Political Affairs, Peace and Security | African Union Commission | E-mail: | Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Information and Communication Directorate, African Union Commission I E-mail:
Web: | Addis Ababa, Ethiopia | Follow Us: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PAPS Digitial Support Officer at

Headquarters - Addis ababa